Call for Nominations

The Lepgold Book Prize:

The Georgetown University Book Prize honors Joseph S. Lepgold, a Georgetown University Government and School of Foreign Service professor who died tragically in December 2001. The prize honors exceptional contributions to the study of international relations, with particular emphasis on the resolution of critical policy challenges.

Recent winners of the prize include Patrick J. McDonald (The Invisible Hand of Peace), John Owen (The Clash of Ideas in World Politics), and Giacomo Chiozza and H.E. Goemans (Leaders and International Conflict). Click here for a full list of winners.

The prize awards $1,000 to the author of the best book in international relations, broadly conceived, each year. To receive the award, the winning author gives a lecture on his or her scholarship at the Mortara Center.  Should one of your books be chosen as the prize winner, you are of course free to use this fact in your publicity and advertising.

To nominate a book for this year’s prize, please send 4 copies of the book (only books published in 2018 are eligible for this year’s award) with a cover letter briefly stating your reasons for nomination to the following address:

GU Book Prize Committee
Georgetown University
Mortara Center for International Studies
3600 N Street
Washington, DC 20057

The deadline for submitting nominations is June 1st, 2019. The prize for books published in 2017 will be issued by October, with the lecture to be delivered in the fall. 

If you have any questions, please email, Subject: "Lepgold Book Prize".